Breath

pexels-photo-24469They said express yourself

So I stood up and screamed my lungs out

My screams turned into laughter

And my laughter turned into crying

I felt free yet so trapped

Battling with the demons in me

Demons I now cannot live without

For I have become immune to them

I have become immune to their screaming voices in my head

And dark figures that only my eyes can see

I want to expose them and yet I do not want to lose them

For there have become the reason I get out of bed

Even though God graces me with life

I have become dependent on them to live

So as I take my seat I look around and smile

For I now know I am not the only one fighting

Fighting to break free from my thoughts

As they slowly drown me

Leave a Reply

